Keane's Challenge

Iain Gale

You are here: Home - Uncategorized - Keane's Challenge


Keane's Challenge

Keane s Challenge The Iberian Peninsula French troops led by one of Napoleon s best generals are massing on the border Wellington s outnumbered force and his unreliable Spanish allies need to pick off the smaller

  • Title: Keane's Challenge
  • Author: Iain Gale
  • ISBN: 9781780873640
  • Page: 458
  • Format: Hardcover
  • The Iberian Peninsula, 1809 French troops led by one of Napoleon s best generals are massing on the border Wellington s outnumbered force and his unreliable Spanish allies need to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground For that they need information accurate intelligence on numbers, arms and whereabouts That s where Captain Keane and his cThe Iberian Peninsula, 1809 French troops led by one of Napoleon s best generals are massing on the border Wellington s outnumbered force and his unreliable Spanish allies need to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground For that they need information accurate intelligence on numbers, arms and whereabouts That s where Captain Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers are invaluable tools despite being unpopular with the regular soldiers But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington s headquarters is a spy for the French Only someone able to travel widely outside the camp, someone privy to battle plans, could be the double agent and Keane s enemies within the army are quick to point the finger Keane must defend his crew against their accusers or root out the traitor himself The second book in the Keane series is a fascinating insight into the work of intelligence officers in Wellington s army Iain Gale s matchless military imagination draws a picture of a disparate group of men brought together, in a Peninsular War adventure novel that sees his maverick hero Keane march again.

    • Unlimited [Horror Book] ↠ Keane's Challenge - by Iain Gale ↠
      458 Iain Gale
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Horror Book] ↠ Keane's Challenge - by Iain Gale ↠
      Posted by:Iain Gale
      Published :2018-012-10T11:15:06+00:00

    One thought on “Keane's Challenge

    1. Speesh on said:

      Well, let's see here. There's no evidence to back up the card sharp line, or the ladies man. There is a woman in the party, but she's spoken for and Keane isn't going to tread on a friend's toes where ladies are concerned. He does get his own toes stepped on here, but makes it quite plain that that sort of thing just isn't done in polite society. The best soldier is not proven as yet. He's a spy, a forward skirmisher, and while he has a few battles and raises the alarm for later, larger battles, [...]

    2. Bob Cantrell on said:

      This is the second book in the series and it was as good as the first one. The only complaint I have with this book is people kept getting promoted and demoted in rank this only happened to two people in the story Lieutenant Morris went from lieutenant to captain and back within in about three pages and Major Grant went from major to colonel and then back to major. This was a little confusing, but not enough to take away from the story. I will say it the adventures of Richard Sharpe are your cup [...]

    3. Alison D on said:

      Enjoyed this book very much, I liked the way it skirted with one of Sharpes(Bernard Cornwell) which I recognised. I now would like to read more of Iain Gale very entertaining.

    4. Lucinda on said:

      A fantastically fast-paced, exhilarating romp through history’s past This gripping, engaging and wonderfully colourful read brings the past vibrantly to life on the page. The gritty harshness of the times and the camaraderie between the fighting men of the peninsular war is evocatively captured with expressive resonance and sincerity. This exciting novel has to be a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell, A L Berridge and Conn Iggulden. Having not read a historical novel for a while, It made a [...]

    5. Tom Williams on said:

      I was given a copy of this book to review for the Historical Novel Society. This review first appeared in their magazine.This is the sequel to Keane's Company and is probably best read after that book.Keane is an exploring officer in the Corps of Guides under Wellington during the Peninsular War. In the story, Keane describes himself (and is described as) a "spy" and he often reports directly to Wellington. He moves from being a combat soldier to being a scout, to hunting down enemy agents as wh [...]

    6. Casey on said:

      An enjoyable read but I didn't feel compelled to continue reading until I was done. Perhaps it was the different perspective of spies and the downplay of full on set piece battles. Some of the story seemed to happen behind the scenes with left too much to the imagination. And the small rivalry that Gale created between himself and another officer seemed petty and out of character.Hoping for an improvement and back to the original story line in the next book.

    7. Alison on said:

      I won a copy of this book via First Reads.An enjoyable tale of the Peninsular Wars I would have been better no doubt reading Keane's Company first. Readers of the Sharpe series may also find this series enjoyable.I'd rate it between 3 1/2-4 stars but don't feel compelled to continue the series.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *